Story Poster
Photo by Scott Boldt
Oregon Football

Penei Sewell Wins Outland Trophy

December 12, 2019

Via Oregon Communications

ATLANTA – Just 20 games into his collegiate career and just over two months since his 19th birthday, Oregon sophomore offensive lineman Penei Sewell is the most outstanding interior lineman in college football.

Sitting alongside his parents, Arlene and Gabe, head coach Mario Cristobal and offensive line coach Alex Mirabal, Sewell was named the recipient of the 2019 Outland Trophy on Thursday night at The Home Depot College Football Awards held at the College Football Hall Of Fame in Atlanta.

Sewell is the first player in Oregon history to win the Outland Trophy and just the third Pac-12 player to do so since 1999. A native of Malaeimi, American Samoa, Sewell entered the night as one of just two players in program history to be a finalist for the Outland Trophy, joining Oregon legend Haloti Ngata (2005).

The top-graded offensive lineman in the nation by Pro Football Focus, Sewell has already been named a first-team All-American by the FWAA, Walter Camp and Pro Football Focus. He’s also a finalist for the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year and was voted by the league’s defensive linemen as the Morris Trophy winner as the top offensive lineman in the Pac-12.

Sewell’s dominance at left tackle protecting quarterback Justin Herbert has been on full display this season. He finished the regular season as PFF’s top-graded offensive lineman in the nation with a grade of 95.9, while his 95.5 run-block grade was also tops in the country. In 466 pass-blocking snaps this season, Sewell has allowed just seven pressures and no sacks. He has put together eight games without allowing a pressure, hurry or hit on the quarterback. His 92.2 pass-blocking mark ranks second nationally.

Over the 12-game regular season, Sewell was named to PFF’s Pac-12 Team of the Week nine times and to the outlet’s National Team of the Week six times, which led the country. Sewell earned the Pac-12 Offensive Lineman of the Week nod four times in 2019, while Washington State (2) was the only other team to win the award more than once.

Oregon is 16-3 over the last two seasons with Sewell in the starting lineup. Sewell is a key piece in the Ducks’ dominant offensive line that was named one of four finalists for the Joe Moore Award.


» Outland Trophy winner
» Morris Trophy winner
» FWAA All-America first team
» Walter Camp All-America first team
» CBS Sports All-America first team
» Sports Illustrated All-America first team

» The Athletic All-America first team
» AP Pac-12 Co-Offensive Player of the Year
» PFF Pac-12 Player of the Year
» AP Pac-12 All-Conference first team
» Coaches Pac-12 All-Conference first team

Tags: Football, Oregon
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.