Photo by Scott Boldt
Oregon Basketball

Payton Pritchard Named Pac-12 POTY

March 9, 2020

Via Pac-12 Communications

SAN FRANCISCO – In a vote of the 12 Conference coaches, OREGON’s Payton Pritchard has been chosen the 2019-20 Pac-12 Men's Basketball Player of the Year; ARIZONA’s Zeke Nnaji was voted the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year; COLORADO’s Tyler Bey was selected the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year; UCLA’s Chris Smith was tabbed the Pac-12 Most Improved Player of the Year; ARIZONA STATE’s Alonzo Verge Jr. earned the Pac-12 Sixth Man of the Year; and UCLA’s Mick Cronin claimed the John R. Wooden Pac-12 Coach of the Year honor, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today along with the league's All-Conference Teams.

The Conference matched its record with six teams reaching the 20-win plateau during the regular season, and with as many as seven teams in contention for NCAA Tournament at-large berths the stage is now set for one of the most exciting Pac-12 Tournaments in league history.

The Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament is set to take place March 11-14 in Las Vegas at T-Mobile Arena. All-tournament and flex passes and single-session tickets are available for purchase at and fans can follow coverage of the event all week long at

PAC-12 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Payton Pritchard, Sr., G, OREGON

A finalist for the Wooden and Cousy Awards and Naismith and Robertson Trophies for National Player of the Year, Pritchard was the engine that propelled the Ducks to their third Pac-12 regular-season title in the past five seasons including the second of his sterling four-year career.

The 6-2 lead guard from West Linn, Ore., becomes the sixth Conference Player of the Year for Oregon, including the third in the past six seasons. He is also the first senior and point guard to claim the league’s top honor since former Duck Joseph Young in 2014-15.

He closed the regular season leading the league in both scoring (20.5 ppg) and assists (5.6 apg) – the three previous players to do that for a full season also won the Conference’s Player of the Year honor and were consensus First Team All-Americans (Gary Payton, OSU 1989-90; Damon Stoudamire, ARIZ 1994-95; Jason Terry, ARIZ 1998-99). Payton and Terry also went on to earn National Player of the Year recognition.

Add in his 4.3 rebounds per game and Pritchard is the only major conference player and just 1-of-3 nationally averaging at least 20 points, five assists and four rebounds per College Basketball Reference. He also ranks second nationally in College Basketball Reference’s Offensive Win Shares (5.3) and Offensive Box Plus-Minus (10.0).


Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.